Frederick-Wenger Memorial Fellowship

Terms of the Frederick-Wenger Memorial Fellowship

The Frederick-Wenger Jordanian Educational Fellowship is to assist Jordanian undergraduate or graduate students with the cost of their education. Eligible candidates must be Jordanian citizens currently enrolled in a degree program at a higher education institution within Jordan. Eligibility is not limited to specific fields of study, but preference will be accorded to students in programs that advance the awareness, understanding, and development of Jordan’s cultural heritage. Application requirements include:

For graduate students:

  • Completed application form
  • Project proposal narrative (up to 1000 words, not including bibliography)
  • Transcripts(s) (first-year graduate students should submit both graduate and undergraduate transcripts)
  • One recommendation that must be from academic advisor

For undergraduate students:

Two Fellowships of $2,000 each will be awarded each cycle.  This award should be used by the student to pay for expenses directly related to the student’s educational program. Such expenses may include (but are not limited to) tuition, registration fees, course or reference material, and transportation.

Deadline for applications is February 15 annually.
Applicants will be notified in April annually.

Frederick Wenger Fellowship Award History:

2020 Fadwa Hussein Al-Hasanat, Al-Hussein Bin Talal University
2019    Obada Abdulkareem Mousa Al-Farajat, Al-Hussein Bin Talal University
2019    Abbad Diraneyya, University of Jordan
2018    Mariam Mufleeh, Hashemite University
2017    Ruba Al Omary, Yarmouk University
2017    Wafaa Al Shalabi, University of Jordan
2016    Amany Al Dabouki, Hashemite University
2015    Fatmeh Darawad, Hashemite University
2014    Fadia Abedrubh, German Jordanian University
2013    Mohammed D. Mahmoud, Hashemite University
2012    Heba Sawalmeh, Hashemite University
2011    Muwaffaq Hazza al Khadir, Yarmouk University
2010    Samya Khalaf, University of Jordan
2009    Muna Musa al Slaihat, Hashemite University
2008    Fatima Jalboosh, Hashemite University
2007    Nizar al Adarbeh, Yarmouk University

Several of the Frederick-Wenger awardees remain part of the ACOR family, for example:

  • Nizar al Adarbeh joined ACOR as Chief of Party of the USAID SCHEP initiative, from 2016-2021.
  • Samya (Khalaf) Kafafi is today ACOR’s Assistant Librarian.

Background of the Frederick-Wenger Memorial Fellowship

Nan Frederick in 2009.
Nan Frederick in 2009.

The Frederick-Wenger Memorial Fellowship was created by the late Nan Frederick in 2004 to honor the memory of her late husband, Dr. Francis L. Wenger.  Since her death in 2011, the fellowship has been made in her memory as well. The first award was given in 2007 and is awarded annually since that time.

The couple shared a mutual interest in preserving the cultural heritage of Jordan by advancing the higher education of Jordanian students. They first came to Jordan in 1983. At that time, Nan was Deputy Director of the American School and Hospitals Abroad (ASHA) program, while Francis was head of the Department of Physical Medicine at the Washington Hospital Center, as well as an associate professor and lecturer at George Washington and Georgetown Universities.

Nan Frederick and Dr. Francis L. Wenger in 1995.

Nan retired in 1991 and joined the ACOR Board of Trustees. Francis worked with American and Jordanian physicians to help develop pediatric rehabilitation services in Jordan and he also helped facilitate the donation of an important private library collection to the ACOR Library in 1987. Please help ACOR to honor the memory of this remarkable couple and their commitment to Jordanian higher education and cultural heritage.

To donate to this fellowship, please click here and write “Frederick-Wenger” under the “Additional Details” section of the donation form.

Click here to apply for this fellowship.

Scroll to Top