Fellows Awarded 2023–2024

2023–2024 Fellowship Awardees

National Endowment for the Humanities Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

Sarah Wenner (Classics, University of Cincinnati)
“South Jordan Ceramics as a Lens to Site Formation Processes”

ACOR-CAORC Postdoctoral Fellowship

Kimberly Katz (History, Towson College)
“Between Jordanian and International Law: UNRWA’s Involvement in Jordanian Court Cases”

Suzanne Richard (History and Archaeology, Gannon College)
“Archaeological Expedition to Khirbat Iskandar and Its Environs. Vol. 2: Final Report on the Early Bronze”

Gary Rollefson (Anthropology, Whitman College)
“Completing a Lithic ‘Library’ for Future Late Neolithic Research in the Black Desert of Jordan”

ACOR-CAORC Predoctoral Fellowship

Nadine Fattaleh (Media, Culture, and Communications, New York University)
“The Genesis of the Visual Culture of the Palestinian Revolution: Amman 1968–1971”

Molly Hickey (Political Science, Harvard University)
“The Political Economy of Reform under Authoritarianism”

Alex Jreisat (Anthropology and History, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
“Occluded Circulations: Mapping the Smuggling Histories Straddling the Jordan River”

Nicolas Reeves (International Development and Political Sciences, Sciences Po Paris and Freie Universität Berlin)*
“The Impact of Low Tourism Demand on Tourism-Reliant Communities in Jordan”

Pierre and Patricia Bikai Fellowship

Benjamin Allison (History, University of Texas at Austin)
“Gender Through the Cracks of Détente: The Superpowers, the Arab ‘Radicals,’ and the Coming of the Second Cold War, 1977–1984”

Bert and Sally de Vries Fellowship

Annmarie Delgado (Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures, University of California, Berkeley)
“Dhiban Excavation and Development Project”

Harrell Family Fellowship

Timothy Loh (History, Anthropology and Science, Technology, and Society, Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
“Assistive Technologies for Deaf People in Jordan: Entanglements of Language, Religion, and Disability”

Jennifer C. Groot Memorial Fellowship

Shane Cook (Archaeology/History, Wilfred Laurier University)
“Town of Nebo Archaeological Project”

Miya Pletsas (Archaeology and Heritage Studies, Jennifer C. Groot Memorial Fellowship)
“Khirbat al-Mukhayyat Archaeological Project”

Holly O’Neil (Archaeology, Simon Fraser University)
“Renewed Archaeological Survey of the Azraq Wadis Sectors”

Anneta Savvidis (Archaeology and Heritage Studies, Wilfred Laurier University)
“Khirbat al-Mukhayyat Archaeological Project”

Burton MacDonald and Rosemarie Sampson Fellowship

David Minielly (Archaeology and History, Wilfred Laurier University)
“Khirbat al-Mukhayyat Archaeological Project”

Kenneth W. Russell Memorial Fellowship

Natalia Handziuk (Anthropology, University of Toronto)
“Archaeological Expedition to Khirbat Iskandar”

S. Thomas Parker Memorial Fund

Craig Harvey (Classical Studies, University of Western Ontario)
“Khirbet al-Khalde Archaeological Project”

James A. Sauer Fellowship

Bayan Mujahed (Architectural Conservation, German Jordanian University)
““Investigating Amman’s Modern Cultural Heritage: Mid-Twentieth-Century Single-Family Houses”

Frederick-Wenger Jordanian Educational Fellowship

Husam Hamdan (Tourism and Heritage, The Hashemite University)
University Study

Lama Khaled Maabreh (Education, Yarmouk University)
University Study

Lawrence T. Geraty Travel Scholarship

Hafsa Al-Jandabi (Architectural Conservation, German Jordanian University)
“Old City of Sana’a Salvage: Damage Assessment and Recommendations for Post-Conflict Conservation”

Scroll to Top